Tags

, , , , ,

After I wrote my second blog post I realized that I never really finished answering the above question. I guess there are many factors as to why I quit Facebook that will be answered through several posts. With that said, enjoy what I’ve been able to process thus far. 

From USA TODAY

Will employers still ask for Facebook passwords in 2014?

Imagine you’re a motivated college senior interviewing for your dream job. Your resume is plump, your answers are impressive and your interviewer seems engaged. Then you’re asked to hand over your Facebook username and password. Oregon joined 11 other states in banning such practices this week, when a law passed last May went into effect. But without federal legislation, employers — as well as colleges and universities — are continuing to pry into the personal lives of their employees and students through the sparsely legislated realm of the Internet. “If you have certain privacy protections in your own home … then my feeling is that you should have the same type of protections online as you do offline,” says Bradley Shear, a lawyer who has worked with state and federal lawmakers to draft legislation on the issue.

http://usat.ly/1dnnz9A

 I’m at the end of week 2 and I can honestly say that my Facebook rehab is going better than I thought it would.  Earlier this week I posted something on LinkedIn in relation to my blog.

“Maybe not the end, but for almost two years now I’ve been sensing a shift as to how people feel about Facebook. The general feeling out there is that people, young and old, are sick of the social media site. In the next two years, I predict that Facebook will see a large amount of accounts being closed.”

The article I had related it to was featured on a LinkedIn page and is titled, “Facebook Hit With Lawsuit: Could Mistrust Spell The End Of The Social Giant?”. I’m not going to past the whole article here but merely shared this to reference that something is happening out there. Look at the story above for example. I think it’s fair to say that if any employer asked for my Facebook account information it would be a reason for me to delete my account.

 The question then becomes whether or not Facebook is still the most appealing nightclub?

*The following paragraph is going to sound harsh and cruel to my older readers and I mean no direct harm.*

Surely veteran Facebook users like me can attest to the fact that this nightclub is not the same nightclub we used to go to. Sure it’s in the same location but the atmosphere is different. As loyal members, we’ve stuck through all of the changes, but we remember a time when we didn’t have to worry so much about every move we made. The sex appeal is now gone since everyone can join. Imagine seeing your grandpa at your favorite nightclub. That’s the new Facebook. The ads are a nuisance just like the slimy guy trying to get your number at a club. Oh, and God forbid you like something! Your newsfeed becomes the floor of the nightclub when the lights turn on, full of crap! Navigating through the new Facebook is like trying to get to the bathroom when the club is packed. You can’t find anything that you want to find. And now to top this club experience all off, your boss is now the bouncer. No thank you. I’ll go look for a more private club. Therein lies the problem….THERE IS NO OTHER CLUB.

Let’s face it (no pun intended), when it comes to social media nothing really compares to Facebook. I’ll save this topic for another post but really the market is open for someone to compete with Facebook. This post is about the general consensus that Facebook (nightclub) has reached maximum capacity and some people are looking to find another club to attend. So how does this take place? I think it starts with the general idea that Malcolm Gladwell discusses in The Tipping Point: . What made Facebook become what it is today? <– Loaded question (I’ll talk about this on my post about How I Met Facebook: Love at First Poke ♥)

Now I know some readers may have not read The Tipping Point so here’s a sum up from our friends at WikiSummaries:

Full summary can be found: http://www.wikisummaries.org/The_Tipping_Point

Part that I find relevant for this post:

The nature of modern culture is such that many new ideas are constantly being introduced from a wide variety of sources, ranging from trend-setting teens and twenty-somethings in the nation’s metropolitan centers to new product offerings from established corporations. Some of these achieve a measure of steady, consistent success, some fail, and some take off on an upward trajectory of exponential popularity and influence.

Based on his in-depth research spanning a number of different fields, industries, and scholarly disciplines, Gladwell identifies three key factors that each play in role in determining whether a particular trend will “tip” into wide-scale popularity. Gladwell’s discussion and illustration of the concepts of the Law of the Few, the Stickiness Factor, and the Power of Context comprise the majority of the book.

The Law of the Few contends that before widespread popularity can be attained, a few key types of people must champion an idea, concept, or product before it can reach the tipping point. Gladwell describes these key types as Connectors, Mavens, and Salesmen. If individuals representing all three of these groups endorse and advocate a new idea, it is much more likely that it will tip into exponential success.

Gladwell defines the Stickiness Factor as the quality that compels people to pay close, sustained attention to a product, concept, or idea. Stickiness is hard to define, and its presence or absence often depends heavily on context. Often, the way that the Stickiness Factor is generated is unconventional, unexpected, and contrary to received wisdom.

The concept that Gladwell terms the Power of Context is enormously important in determining whether a particular phenomenon will tip into widespread popularity. Even minute changes in the environment can play a major factor in the propensity of a given concept attaining the tipping point. Also, Gladwell defines the term context very broadly, discussing the implications of small variations in social groups and minor changes in a neighborhood or community environment as shifts that can cause a new idea to tip.

 I understand that this post is now getting a tad lengthy so we’ll stop here with points to consider for my next time. How do the three concepts suggested by Gladwell apply to Facebook becoming what it is? How can these same points be used to forecast its possible fall?

A friend of mine, who knows I’m off of Facebook, sent this to me today since she knows how much I loved the memes that people post on Facebook. To all of you that still have the power to like something, this one’s for you!

 Image